Young Grower of the Year decided next week

07 Aug 2017

The winner of the New Zealand Young Vegetable Grower and four regional Young Fruit Grower winners will compete next week for the national title Young Grower of the Year 2017.

On August 16 and 17, at the Sudima Airport Hotel in Christchurch, the five finalists will test their horticultural skills and knowledge. This year’s entrants are:

- New Zealand Young Vegetable Grower 2017 - Scott Wilcox, Pukekohe

- Hawke’s Bay Young Fruit Grower 2017 - Jordan James, Whakatu

- Central Otago Young Fruit Grower 2017 - Ben Geaney, Waimate

- Nelson Young Fruit Grower 2017 - Ralph Bastian, Appleby

- Bay of Plenty Fruit Grower 2017 - Erin Atkinson, Te Puke

The competitors will compete in a series of practical and theoretical challenges designed to test the skills needed to run a successful export-focused horticultural business. All finalists also take part in a leadership panel discussion, before delivering a speech in front of the judges at an awards dinner event.

Young Grower of the Year is an annual competition to determine the best young grower in the country. In its 11th year, the competition is part of Horticulture New Zealand’s strategy to support the growth and development of New Zealand’s future horticultural leaders. Horticulture New Zealand (HortNZ) represents New Zealand's 5,500 commercial fruit and vegetable growers. The industry is worth $5.6b.

What: Young Grower of the Year competition, national final

Date: 16 and 17 August 2017

Where: Sudima Airport Hotel, Christchurch